“WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH IT HURTS!”

This is a direct quote from me to my mother about five minutes ago, promptly after I got my Menactra meningitis vaccination.

My nurse, the amazing Betty Level, is incredibly good at making my shots not hurt. As a result from a terrifying trip to the emergency room as a five-year-old with Scarlet Fever, I have never really been able to get over my phobia of needles. Betty is fantastic, and is great at distracting me.

Unfortunately for her, vaccinations sometimes hurt afterwards, and there’s nothing she can do about it. Meningitis stings, and then settles into a dull ache. I got my first as a freshman about to enter Mizzou, but it’s been long enough that I needed another one.

On May 11th I will be receiving my polio and typhoid shots, as well as the scripts for malaria and antibiotic pills.

In other news, the delicious (almost nearly Dr.) Sean Mark (Ph.D.) will potentially be going to Malawi with me. He defends his thesis in June, and will be done and able to take a trip before he starts his work in D.C.

For those who are interested, there are still about five spots open for the second summer session!